There’s So Much I Don’t Know

It’s 2003. I can remember three things from year five at Konini Primary that year.

1. Having Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban read to us as a class because only the first two movies were out.

2. Jessica friend-zoning me so hard.

3. An outrageous, yet mind-blowing lesson from my teacher.

He once told me to put my hand on the classroom wall.
“Everything your hand covers, is what you know. The rest of the uncovered classroom, is all you don’t know.”

I remember being so quick to be like “Bitch pleeeease I’d know at least a decent fraction of all there is to know, I mean I know all I know!”
It was a huge classroom. How could there be so much stuff I knew nothing about?

Only since I’ve grown up (slightly) have I realised how wrong we both were. If anything Mr Carter was right. But I reckon it would be millions of classrooms.

I mean, how am I supposed to know?

I’ll tell you what I do know, Jason Mraz.

Mah avacado don't want none unless you got buns hun

Mah avacado don’t want none unless you got buns hun

I’ve named over 50 Jason Mraz songs off the top of my head. I know that he has a lot of personal jokes with his sister. I know his cat Holmes was the inspiration for “Little You & I”, and sadly also for “When we Die.”

Trust me I would bore you spilling on all things Mraz. I’m actually surprised you made it through the previous paragraph. If you didn’t, well eat a dick. Not that you’ll see this because you haven’t read this far. Obviously too busy attending to a lot of things that are not Jason Mraz.

It’s possible to know a crazy amount about everything. Every person, place, feeling, type of art, species of earthworm, battle in history, brand of baked beans. Everything has so much information associated with it that I just can’t comprehend.

What secrets doth thy keep?

What secrets doth thy keep?

Sometimes I google random three letter acronyms, just to see another subject, company or saying that I know nothing about. I call them “randonyms”. Only because I’m always down for a good wordmash.

“CLM” stands for “Community Leisure Management” A gym I’ve never heard of.

“XGH” is a solar system lightyears away I’ve only recently come to know anything about. There’s not a lot going on there apparently.

“IFB” stands for International Fashion Bloggers… with some top tips on how to get invited to New York fashion shows. I think I’ll pass.

My favourite randonym would have to be “XXX”. That was an interesting day of blog research.

Yo know nothing Jon Ho...

You know nothing Jon Ho…

In short, I don’t know a lot about a lot of stuff. But the reason I’m writing this is because elaborating on what I don’t know has proved a worthwhile exercise, one I encourage you to try.

First up I don’t know a heck of a lot about myself. I think I do, but really how I’ve chopped and changed through the years I am confident in claiming I’m all over the place. I’d put money on me being different in another year. You think you know how you’ll react in certain situations but only find out once they happen.

I didn’t know I was going to leave the church I was brought up in, much to the shock and horror of my parents.
I also didn’t know my parents were going to come around and eventually support me.
I didn’t think I’d ever study radio. I remember moments before I was exposed to the radio school I’d eventually study at, I thought radio was dead.

I also don’t know if my current lifestyle is the most fulfilling. How would I? What if an amazing life awaits me as a scuba instructor at Goat Island? Or as a wanderlusty busker? Maybe I could really make a difference volunteering in Paraguay?

Looks like hard work though... maybe I'll just supervise

Looks like hard work though… maybe I’ll just supervise

What a scary thought to entertain, that you are living a life that could be better spent. I find my generation has felt this the most, because of the overexposure to the extremes on the bell curve, the highlights of everything that is constantly thrust in our faces.

The best way to combat this I’ve found is to pick one you like, and go for it. Leave no stone unturned. Commit to it. You’ll never find the best, but you’ll likely find one that is good & worth your time.

A few years back my friend txted me one night out of nowhere.
“Hey bro do you wanna go to Thailand for two weeks at the end of the year? Need to know tonight, mates are booking flights.”

As I was in the market for a holiday, I could have researched every possible holiday spot on the planet. I knew nothing about Thailand, how was I to know it was the best possible way to spend my precious leave?

I didn’t. But it was about as good a choice as any, so I committed. Yes I got food poisoning, yes we got scammed by taxi drivers and by pretty much everyone, yes Bangkok town was fucked up and I felt like I had walked into a human trafficking pile-up. But I ended up having heaps of fun, and had some of the best experiences that I’ll never forget.
Could Europe have been better? Possibly. But I enjoyed myself enough to not justify losing sleep over it.

I don’t know what would happen if I tried to study at one of those free uni’s in Germany. Or if I committed my whole being to becoming the next Eminem. All I know is my next blog post is going to be on why I’m so basic, because my trip to Thailand was about a 10 on the pH scale. (UPDATE: As, promised, here it is.)

I know I know.... biff your rotten fruit judgements because I was a tourist once...

I know I know…. biff your rotten fruit judgements because I was a tourist once…

Think about what you don’t know. Embrace the vastness of the universe. Never forget your place as simultaneously completely meaningful & utterly meaningless. Pick a path among the infinite and walk like it’s the best you’ll get.

But most importantly, don’t listen to me. I don’t know what I’m talking about.

2 thoughts on “There’s So Much I Don’t Know

Leave a Reply

